The Village of Johnstown is a charter form of Government. The provisions of the Johnstown Charter requires that the village will function as a “Mayor, Council, Administrator” form of government.

The Village Council is the legislative body of the local government. Village Council consists of seven members. A mayor is elected from among the council to serve for a two-year term.

The Village Manager is appointed by the Mayor and hired by Village Council, as required by the Village Charter, to oversee the day-to-day operations of the city. The Manager serves as the chief executive and administrative officer of the village and is responsible for all village departments.

The Financial Director of the village, per the Charter, serves at the pleasure of the Mayor and Council and is responsible for the financial business of the village.

Other departments of the city include the Police Department under the direct supervision of the Chief of Police and the general direction of the Village Manager; Service Department under the direct supervision of the Service Director; the Planning and Zoning Department under the director supervision of the Village Manager; and the Recreation Department under the Service Director.